What would you do differently?

In this inspiring blog post, a palliative care nurse who worked with dying patients in the last weeks of their lives notes the themes around what dying patients would do differently if they could go back and do it all again. She noticed five common themes:

1.  I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others  expected of me.

2.  I wish I didn’t work so hard.

3.  I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.

4.  I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.

5.  I wish that I had let myself be happier.

These themes are all about connection: to ourselves, to others, to our feelings, needs, dreams and deepest desires. Often we have blocks around these areas, or simply don’t know how to make those connections.

Energy therapy techniques such as Emotional Freedom Technique (EFT) are powerful tools for clearing away the obstacles to happiness, self-sabotage, authenticity and balance. These tools may be used for self-work or with the assistance of a practitioner.

The good news is that it’s never too late to begin or to continue your healing journey! How would you like to be free of regrets? What if you could experience living life to your potential, reaching for your dreams and feeling connected to yourself and others?

Living fully isn’t only about working hard and playing hard, if we listen to the wisdom of these dying patients. In fact, the secret sounds as though it may be more about loving deeply, listening to your heart, choosing joy and being around people you care about. I’m guessing more hugs wouldn’t hurt, either.

Be well, Stephanie

Leave a Reply

